Run the Business
5 Minute Fridays
The Layers of Customer Centricity (v1)
4
0:00
-2:38

The Layers of Customer Centricity (v1)

4

back with a “5 minute Friday” audio edition

key concepts I cover in this snippet:

  1. there are multiple layers of customer centricity in B2B products

  2. level 1: reality (an actual, named user with access to budget)

  3. level 2: totality (deep knowledge of the end user’s environment)

  4. level 3: plurality (conviction on a repeatable problem vs one off)

You can discuss these ideas further with me in the subscriber chat in the Substack app.

I’d love to hear from listeners about their attempts at customer centricity - please chime in via comments👇. And if you enjoyed this post, please consider subscribing.


further reading / references

  • I teach a cohort-based course on scaling B2B products where we discuss such concepts in class and office hours (today’s episode is based on one such exchange)

  • CX loops are a good way to train your organization to be more customer centric

  • my time at Amazon really informed my customer obsession mindset, and you can read more about how they do things in my posts on Bar Raiser and Customer Zero


childish drawing / interpretation

4 Comments
Run the Business
5 Minute Fridays
1 topic, 5 key concepts, covered in a 5 minute audio snippet
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed